Playoffs

The 2013 Major League Baseball season is over. My Los Angeles Dodgers are the 2013 National League-West Division champs which means we get to keep playing baseball this week.

Dodgers_nl_west_champions_logo

I am excited, but I’m not pouring the proverbial champagne over my head quite yet. The Dodgers have won the West 12 times in my lifetime (’74, ’77, ’78, ’81, ’83, ’85, ’88, ’95, ’04, ’08, ’09, and ’13).

That distinction has taken them to the World Series 5 times in my lifetime (’74, ’77, ’78, ’81, and ’88). And, of course, they’ve gone home champs twice in that same span of time, in 1981 and again in 1988.

That’s not bad, but that does mean that 7 times in my life the Dodgers have won the West but lost in the playoffs before making it to the World Series. I remember each of those losses well (especially ’85).

We’ve done a great thing this year, and that makes me happy. We have great pitching and an offense that has shown themselves capable of producing. We also have no shortage of exciting examples of the magical, the kinds of things that make many a baseball fan into a hopeless romantic. But we’ve still got quite a road ahead of us.

I’m optimistic. But I also know we’ve still got some work to do before its time to celebrate.

I’m just glad we get a chance to do that work.

3 thoughts on “Playoffs

  1. It’s always nice when the team you support is not only successful in the present, but looks to be successful in the future, as well. I’ll be honest, I still can’t believe a team that hired Ned Colletti is successful. But then, I think the same about Sabean.

  2. Kind words. I appreciate them, especially from you. As for me, I can’t believe a team that stuck with Don Mattingly as manager is successful.

  3. I have always been a dodger blue fan. But never seen a home team game. I would like to but am on a buaget.. so it. Would be a. Wheel. Fr. Raquel a
    Ortiz Go dodger blue Go’

Leave a comment