Friday Five: Crosby, Still, & Nash (and Young)

One of the consistent things I read online is the blog of one of my friends, Steven Rubio. And, for as long as I have been reading him, he’s done some version of a music list every Friday. This is my homage to Steven’s great idea, but with a different purpose.

The Friday Five will be a list of five songs from one artist that I think people younger than me should know. Sometimes they’ll be my favorites, other times “the best,” other times just five to hear. Either way, a good excuse for me to share more music.

5. “Wooden Ships” (1968): Written by Crosby, Stills, and Paul Kantner of the Jefferson Airplane, the song was recorded by both bands. It’s all about war, and apocalypse.

4. “Just a Song Before I Go” (1977): It’s drips the seventies, but with a kind of sadness that rings more genuine than most.

3. “Southern Cross” (1982): Just about everything Steven Stills does well is in this song. This might be their last great one.  (Sorry for dorky video.)

2. “Ohio” (1970): Neil Young’s song about the massacre at Kent State might be my favorite thing he’s ever done. Which is saying something. I like how the harmonies work here.

1. “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes” (1969): If they had never done another thing this would have been enough. One of my favorite songs. It came in at #426 on the Rolling Stone list from a few years ago. Way off I say…

3 thoughts on “Friday Five: Crosby, Still, & Nash (and Young)

  1. The thing I remember most is that, like most people, I tend to gravitate towards the lead. I was fine doing harmony, as long as I started in the right place. Our arrangement was three singers and two acoustic guitars … we didn’t use my bass for that song. Just before we started singing, I quietly plucked my beginning note on my bass, so I’d know what to sing. So, if there was a recording, you’d hear a faint “bomp bomp bomp bomp” at the beginning.

    The only recording I have of me playing bass shows that I was fast and agile. I was completely un-funky, and I didn’t really get the idea that the bass was part of the rhythm section … I’d go off on my own a lot. My idol was Jack Casady.

Leave a Reply

