Slacker Secret Service Seems Suspicious

Call it paranoia or call it being grounded in the knowledge of the past, but the first thing I felt after Obama won the Democratic nomination was fear. Speaking to a few other friends in the days after, I found it to be something of a common experience. After the November election, even more friends–all of us roughly part of the same generation and each of us a person of color–expressed the same sort of fear about him being President. It cut across gender and educational lines. It even seemed to be a fear felt by people whether or not they supported his candidacy.

All of us were worried he would be shot.

It’s been a week and a half and the first nonwhite President of the United States of American is still alive. Whew! So what do you say we be sure and keep it that way. Sound good? Anyone? Calling US Secret Service??

“Security Around Obama Alarms Some VIP Donors” (Washington Post)

2 thoughts on “Slacker Secret Service Seems Suspicious

  1. My lily-white mother has been afraid of that since late ’07. She claims she moved Barack ahead of me in her bedtime prayers — I kid you not. “But only to protect him from assassination, honey — I pray for your health and happiness before I pray for his.”

  2. My first thought was Obama’s safety; and it is an unspoken fear I keep buried. Having lived through Kenedy’s assasination as a teenager in high school my innocence was shattered and I stopped believing that the U.S. presidency could never be in harms way.

    I have a dear friend that is a Secret Service agent and has worked on presidential detail and I know he would lay down his life for our president. There are many good servants that live their lives believing our system works and protecting it. The nature of their work doesn’t allow them to get recognition, but their work goes on daily in the name of security; and it is a 24 hour commitment.

Leave a Reply

