All Hail the King! Praise His Name and Glory!

So many 40 year anniversaries came and went in 2008. Many of them were momentous historical events, ones that defined 1968 as a tumultuous year in U.S. political and social history. As a historian of social movements, almost everyday this year reminded me of something I find important, on a personal intellectual level, so much so that I have dedicated much of my adult life to learning more about them.

History only means what we let it, so to avoid the deterministic and overly commemorative inclinations our culture celebrates (and sometimes fixates on), let me just offer this as a reminder of the glory that was 1968:

If you’re Latino like me, then you know what I’m talking about.  And if you ain’t, then baby, get goin’, ’cause nothin’ ever changed by stayin’ still…

One thought on “All Hail the King! Praise His Name and Glory!

  1. If I could go back in time for just one musical event, I’d be sitting in the audience when Elvis sat around with his friends for a couple of hours for the ’68 Special.

Leave a Reply

