100 Greatest Hip Hop Songs

According to reports, VH1 has finished compiling their list of the “100 Greatest Hip Hop Songs” and Public Enemy’s “Fight the Power” has come out on top.

Number 2 is the song many call the “first rap song,” the legendary “Rapper’s Delight” by Sugar Hill Gang.

All “best of” lists are selective and debatable, but damn their fun.  I don’t know where my favorites ended up on the final tally (I suppose I’ll have to watch the countdown show premiering next month) but here they are for your pleasure:

2 thoughts on “100 Greatest Hip Hop Songs

  1. Hard to argue with their choices or yours. I might have chosen “Don’t Believe the Hype” from PE. Hip hop doesn’t just mean rap, but I’m not sure what non-rap hip hop I’d put atop a list like this. There should be room for “Paid in Full (Seven Minutes of Madness)” … “Rock Box” over “Walk This Way” … nice to see Salt ‘n Pepa get props, but I’d put something by Missy as the top female … and if I could vote for an album, Paul’s Boutique.

Leave a Reply

