Daddy Day

This weekend is “Father’s Day” in the U.S., or as I like to call it, “I get to pick where we eat” Day. I have two lovely little ones–a 2 year 7 month old son and a 6 month old daughter–making me a beneficiary of the holiday.

Since my wife and I are kind of not into making them too public on the internet quite yet, let’s say their names are “B” and “Miss Pants.” Now, you may not know this but it is true: being a dad to my two kids is the best thing in the world. I often find the life of babies and an academic semester to be a bit too speedy and overwhelming to think about it much, but when I get a breather, I am often reminded that all of my political and philosophical commitments relate back to them.

That isn’t to say I didn’t have these commitments until my children entered the world. No, but they did give those commitments life. My kids ground me on a daily basis and remind me that the struggles we face as communities of people are so vitally important. They are my link with humanity and my daily challenge to be empathic, humble, critical, and loving.

I hope you have those reminders, too.

Happy pop’s day.

Leave a Reply

